madelinelaliberte


FlaSHinG LiGhTs…
June 19, 2011, 3:54 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

Times Square has always been the area within New York City that grabs my attention the most. I remember being a young girl and telling my mother the only place I wanted to go was Times Square so I could see the bright lights. Twelve years later and I still feel the same way I did as a girl. A lot have changed since then, but one thing has stayed the same, my curiosity of the bright advertisements flashing at me from every angle.

After completing a large amount of research on Times Square, I have discovered many interesting things I had previously been unaware of. The material of information that was the most shocking to me is how after the Great Depression Times Square became extremely dangerous. The

Times Square

overwhelming amount of sex theaters within the area attracted the wrong group of crowd. Luckily Mayor Rudolph Giuliani (1994-2002) was able to pick up the broken city and push for reform. Today it now stands as an amazing attraction for people all over the world. I was completely unaware of this before doing my research so it was great to discover that the people of New York wanted a change and actually followed through to make it happen.

Through all this research I can easily say that the greatest thing I learned was that you can’t judge a place by the way it looks in pictures and on TV. Things become extremely fabricated through mass media and often time’s things aren’t always what they seem. Although I am still as in love with Times Square in comparison to when I first visited, I can easily say with the material that I have discovered the area wasn’t always golden and successful. It has certainly had its ups and downs and it will continue to grow over the years.

2011 New Years Eve in Times Square

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

