madelinelaliberte


“The Real World… NYC”
June 23, 2011, 11:16 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Since arriving in New York City, I have grasped a sense of what the ‘real world’ is like. Through this Elon program I have been given many wonderful opportunities to meet different people and talk to alumnae that were once in my position a couple years back.  While exploring Wall Street earlier this week my classmates and I went to two outstanding corporations called Ketchum and Young & Rublicam. Both presentations offered a lot of insight on what to expect in the real world and how important marketing yourself is.

            I am a strategic communications major at Elon and public relations is the field that I want to go into once I graduate. Ketchum which is a public relations agency gave me a lot of insight on what to expect within the field and I was also able to meet several of the people who actually work there. Before having the opportunity to go to Ketchum I was unaware what the company generally did and what it was known for, but that I have a basic understanding of Kethchums role it is an organization that I found to be very professional and I hope to apply there once I start job hunting!

One of my favorite portions of the presentations given at Ketchum was when two of the social media employees described their typically responsibilities on a day-to-day basis. They told my classmates and I that they generally go on social media websites such as Perez Hilton and research new trends within the media. Depending on the newest popular trends it is their responsibility to tell Ketchum employees how they  can apply these new trends within the business in the most beneficial way possible.

I was very impressed that we were able to meet with Ketchum employees considering it is such a well-known amazing company. Everyone within the company that presented to my class gave us their business cards and told us that if we ever had any questions to contact them. I found this to be very professional of them and it made us all feel very welcomed.  Overall this experience has been wonderful and I look forward to the next presentations.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

