madelinelaliberte


“I Have Been Changed… For Good”
July 17, 2011, 3:49 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

Lights, Camera, Action! I couldn’t contain the excitement I was feeling Wednesday afternoon as I was about to attend my first ever Broadway play. My younger sister saw Wicked two years ago and has not stopped talking about it. Unfortunately I was stuck in a horrendous rainstorm for twenty minutes before the play so I was nervous I was going to be late and miss the opening. Five dollars later with an umbrella in my hand I was dodging traffic and basically trying not to die. Although it looked like I just jumped out of the shower, nothing was going to stop me from enjoying the play.

As the play started I was in awe with all the flashing lights and beautiful costumes. Once the actors began singing I was in amazed. Chills literally came creeping up throughout my body. The excitement didn’t stop when the play was over because Bill Webb took up backstage to see all the props. I kept thinking to myself, “Wow, what a once in a lifetime opportunity.” Most people dream about being on a Broadway stage and there I was with my fellow classmates looking at all the seats. I was amazed by how small the actual stage was because from my seat it looked much larger. Backstage they told us how everything was put together in order to make the show work. It was very interesting to see the different types of roles and responsibly that go into making a Broadway play successful. Overall I am so fortunate to have been given this opportunity to not only watch a Broadway play (especially Wicked!) but also go backstage and get a gist of how it all works.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

