madelinelaliberte


Broadway Week #2… Girls in Pearls
July 19, 2011, 4:27 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

I never thought I would have the opportunity to learn as much as I have in the past two weeks about Broadway. My favorite part of the Broadway experience this week was visting the William Ivey Long studio. William is a Tony Award winning Costume Designer. Naturally as a female I find fashion and clothes to be very high interest of mine. William showed us a number of articles of clothing from famous Broadway plays such as Catch Me If You can, Hairspray, Chicago and The Lost Colony.

Before having a behind the scenes look at how the clothes are created I would have had no idea the hard labor it takes to keep an outfit in tiptop shape. One girl asked the question, “How do you get rid of sweat stains after all the performances?” He responded by saying that they add a mixture of water and vodka to spray it. I would have never thought to ask that question but I found the response very interesting.

My favorite outfit I saw was the clear bodysuit with pearls all over it. It was absolutely stunning and I can’t imagine how the girls performing in it were able to move because it easily weighed fifteen pounds. This Broadway experience has completely changed my perceptions of the performing arts. I never realized how much hard work went into all of it to make it successful. The people I have met the past two weeks were very insightful and enthusiastic in teaching my classmates and I the ropes of Broadway from a different light.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

